Oh Where, Oh Where, Has My G-28 Gone?

How is this still an issue?  When I re-started into immigration about four (4) years ago, I picked up an apparently straightforward I-751 case.  We completed the paperwork, filed it with a G-28 (on blue paper), and waited to get our receipt notice . . . and waited . . . and waited.  I’m still waiting. Four years later (after a divorce, an RFE, an amended petition, AILA liaison assistance, and two InfoPass appointments), and after having resent the G-28 to every employee of USCIS, my client had to tell me she was approved.

Here's a G-28 for you, and one for me . . . just kidding, here's another one for you!

Here’s a G-28 for you, and one for me . . . just kidding, here’s another one for you!

My favorite story, though, occurred more recently. I filed an asylum petition (with a G-28) and only got a biometrics notice, but it was clearly sent to me as “Representative’s Copy.” After 150 days, I filed the I-765 with a G-28 and got an email notification and receipt number. It ran outside of processing times, so I called USCIS Customer Service, was elevated to an officer, and was told that I had no G-28 on file — even though I was holding a “Representative’s Copy” notice and had received an email receipt to my work email address.  Either I’m the attorney or there’s a serious data breach at USCIS. The best part, though, is that now I have no idea if I’m actually attached to the asylum petition, and as practitioners know, they only correspond by mail. HA! Life is fun.

Still, though, how does this remain a problem at USCIS? The left hand continually has no clue that it even has a right hand, let alone what it’s up to. For something as critically important as client representation, this is a huge deal. But USCIS has yet to dedicate any resources (so far as I know) to actually remedy the problem. In fact, they went the other way, bumping the G-28 from 2 pages to 4, because more paper will certainly fix the problem.

Something needs to change, as I know I’m one of thousands of attorneys who’ve experienced this precise problem.  And who knows how many clients have suffered because of it? That’s just unacceptable.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

